The White Davis & White Law Firm
Greenville, Anderson, and Spartanburg, South Carolina, and Surrounding Counties
What Should I Do First After a Car Accident?
If you have been involved in a car accident, there are certain things you must do immediately to protect yourself physically and in preparation for a legal case.
- Never refuse medical treatment at the scene of an accident. If emergency medical aid was not called to the scene, make sure you see a doctor immediately after the accident. This is because many injuries take time to manifest and you may discover problems resulting from your accident even months down the road. These actions will help to ensure your claim is covered at a later date.
- Never accept responsibility for the accident unless you are absolutely sure about the events of the accident.
- Contact the police and have an accident report generated.
- File a claim with your insurance company immediately and keep a copy for your records.
- Take pictures of any damages to yourself or property and also of the surroundings at the scene of the accident.
Consult a car accident lawyer as soon as possible to learn your rights and responsibilities.
What if the other insurance company says I need to sign paperwork?
The at-fault driver's insurance company has claims adjustors whose job it is to get you to settle for much less than your claim is worth. Never sign any paperwork or even speak with any adjustors or lawyers representing the other driver without the advice of an attorney. Also, remember that your own car insurance carrier is responsible for providing your coverage for medical payments if you were injured in the accident.
How much is my car accident claim worth?
Your lawyer can never tell exactly how much your car accident claim will be worth until your injuries, your medical treatment, your wage loss and long or short term disability has been evaluated.
What should I do if the at-fault driver doesn't have insurance?
Check your own insurance policy for uninsured motorist coverage. It may also apply if the at-fault driver leaves the scene or if an unknown driver runs you off the road.
What if I was partially at-fault for the accident?
In South Carolina, you are able to recover damages as long as you are not more than 50% responsible for the accident. This means that if you were 20% responsible for the accident and you were awarded $100,000 in damages, you would only be entitled to claim $80,000 because your settlement was reduced by 20%.
If you or a family member has been injured or killed in a car accident, you should seek the advice of The White Davis & White Law Firm, representing clients in the Greenville, Anderson, and Spartanburg, South Carolina, and surrounding counties. Please contact us today to learn how we can help you.